Professional Corp/Professional LLC

General Information

The Professional Corporation Act was amended in 2007 to allow a professional corporation to be formed by and between LCSWs, or among an LCSW and a physician, licensed psychologist, certified clinical specialist in psychiatric and mental health nursing, licensed marriage and family therapist, or licensed professional counselor.  Licensed clinical social workers are no longer required to have a physician or licensed psychologist as a director or shareholder in the professional corporation. Please refer to our FAQs for general information regarding PC/PA or PLLCs. Social Work Licensees who wish to form a Professional Corporation or Limited Liability Company must apply to the North Carolina Social Work Certification and Licensure Board for a Certificate of Registration (COR), pursuant to Chapter 55B of the North Carolina General Statutes. Step I:  Application: Download and complete the appropriate application including:
  • Corporate name which must include a corporate ending as required by GS § 55D-20 or 55B-5.  For limited liability companies, the complete name must be provided and must include the word “Professional” or the abbreviation “P.L.L.C.” or “PLLC” as required by GS § 57D-2-02(a)(10).
  • Specific services to be rendered by the corporation or limited liability company.
  • Mailing address of corporation or limited liability company, including telephone number and email address if applicable.
  • Facility address where business will be conducted.  Include telephone number and email address.
  • For Professional Corporations, provide the name, address, and license number of the incorporator(s), the Board of Directors, and the corporate officers.  Include percent of shares owned by stockholders.
  • For limited liability companies, provide the name, address, and license number of each Owner, Director, and Member.
  • Provide the name, address, professional affiliation, duties, and license number (if applicable) of individuals not otherwise identified, who are employed, or to be employed, in a professional capacity by the corporation/company.
Signatures:  Each incorporator/organizer must sign in front of a notary before submitting the application to the N.C. Social Work Certification and Licensure Board. Step II:  Receipt of Certificate of Registration – Submission to the Secretary of State:
  • Submit application to the NCSWCLB office with the required fee of fifty dollars ($50.00) along with a copy of the Articles of Incorporation or Organization at P.O. Box 1043, Asheboro, NC 27204.
  • A Certificate of Registration (COR) will be returned to the applicant to be used for filing with the Secretary of State’s office along with the Articles of Incorporation or Organization.
Step III:  Amendments to the Certificate of Registration (COR) AND Annual Renewal: AMENDMENT:  An amendment to the COR shall be required for the following reasons:  a change in name or address of the professional entity; a change in the professional services provided by the entity; changes to the articles of organization or incorporation; or changes in ownership or membership. If changes have been made to the Articles of Incorporation or Organization, an updated copy of the articles must be submitted with the updated application.  A fee of twenty-five dollars ($25.00) must be submitted with the notice of amendment; and a new Certificate of Registration will be issued by the Board. Step IV:  Annual Renewal of the COR Required: ANNUAL RENEWAL:  In accordance with NCGS 55B and NCGS 57D, a Certificate of Registration must be renewed annually with this Board. [COR issued between 1/1 and 6/30 will expire on 12/31 of the same year.  COR issued between 7/1 and 12/31 will expire on 12/31 of the following year]
  • Renewal requires submission of the COR Renewal Affidavit along with an updated application form reflecting current information. The COR Renewal Affidavit and updated applications should be submitted to the Board along with the renewal fee of twenty-five dollars ($25.00).
  • A Certificate of Registration will be suspended for failure to renew within thirty (30) days after the expiration date and will be reported to the Office of the Secretary of State.
Step V:  Dissolving your Professional Corporation or Limited Liability Company:
  • Written notice shall be provided to the Social Work Certification and Licensure Board within 30 days of dissolving the professional entity as required by NCAC 63.0903.
You must have Adobe Acrobat Reader installed. (Click here to download Adobe Acrobat Reader). You must install Adobe Acrobat Reader before downloading documents from this web site. Click here to download the Application for a Certificate of Registration for a Professional Corporation or for a Limited Liability Company, and/or the COR Renewal Affidavit.

Contact Information:

Physical Address:

1207 S. Cox Street, Suite F
Asheboro, NC 27203

Phone: 336-625-1679 Fax: 336-625-4246

NCSWCLB Mailing Address:

P.O. Box 1043
Asheboro, NC 27204

Business Hours:

Monday – Friday: 9AM - 5PM

Saturday: Closed
Sunday: Closed