STATUTORY AUTHORITY:  The North Carolina Social Work Certification and Licensure Board is an occupational licensing board of the State.  The Board acts as a regulatory authority whose duty and responsibility is to administer and enforce the provisions of the North Carolina Social Worker Certification and Licensure Act [NCGS § 90B]; and to adopt rules [T21 NCAC 63] to carry out the purpose of the statute, including but not limited to the implementation of ethical and disciplinary standards.

The Social Worker Certification and Licensure Act was enacted in 1983 to protect the public by setting standards for qualification, training, and experience for those who seek to represent themselves to the public as social workers, certified social workers or licensed clinical social workers; and by promoting high standards of professional performance for those engaged in the practice of social work.

DUTIES AND FUNCTIONS:  The Board evaluates the qualifications of applicants for both certification (voluntary) and licensure (mandatory for clinical practice) to ensure that only qualified and competent practitioners are certified or licensed.  The Board also investigates and renders decisions regarding allegations of professional misconduct against social workers.

COMPOSITION AND APPOINTMENTS:  The Board is composed of seven members including five certified or licensed social workers and two public members (non-social workers).    Board members are appointed by the Governor to serve a three year term and may be re-appointed for one additional term.  All members of the Board are residents of North Carolina and professional members must have three years of social work experience prior to the appointment.  Individuals interested in serving on the Board may submit a written statement of interest to the Board or contact the Office of the Governor.

Contact Information:

Physical Address:

1207 S. Cox Street, Suite F
Asheboro, NC 27203

Phone: 336-625-1679 Fax: 336-625-4246

NCSWCLB Mailing Address:

P.O. Box 1043
Asheboro, NC 27204

Business Hours:

Monday – Friday: 9AM - 5PM

Saturday: Closed
Sunday: Closed